University of Western Australia

Camile Farah 161x219Professor Camile S Farah.
Head, School of Dentistry, University of Western Australia

Professor Camile Farah is Head of the School of Dentistry, Director of the Oral Health Centre of WA, and Professor of Oral Oncology at the University of Western Australia.

Professor Farah is a registered specialist in Oral Medicine and Oral Pathology with sub- specialty training in Oral Oncology. He has interests in clinical oral medicine (mucosal pathology, salivary gland diseases, orofacial pain), diagnostic head and neck pathology (oral cancer and precancer), and oral and maxillofacial radiology (Cone Beam CT). He maintains a part-time private practice in Oral Medicine, is Consultant Oral Pathologist to Qscan Radiology Clinics, and Director of the Australian Centre for Oral Oncology Research & Education (ACORE), where he undertakes clinical and translational research into head and neck cancer early detection, molecular diagnostics, and imaging.

Professor Farah obtained his undergraduate dental degree from the University of Western Australia, and practiced dentistry while completing a PhD in Oral Pathology & Immunology, and his specialist training in Oral Medicine & Oral Pathology at the University of Queensland. He also holds a Graduate Certificate in Higher Education and a Graduate Certificate in Executive Leadership.

Professor Farah has authored 120 peer reviewed publications including 10 book chapters, and has attracted approximately $5 million in competitive research funding. His research interests in oral oncology span optical imaging systems (Optical Fluorescence Imaging and Narrow Band Imaging), molecular genomics (Next Generation Sequencing), and clinical trials in early cancer detection and surgical margin delineation. Professor Farah established ACORE in an effort to leverage his academic, clinical and industry partnerships for the advancement of oral oncology translational research, personalised patient care, patient and clinician education and professional development, and overall advocacy for patients with head and neck cancer.

Professor Farah is a Fellow of the Oral Medicine Academy of Australasia, the International Academy of Oral Oncology, the Royal College of Dental Surgeons, the International College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. He serves on the editorial boards for several journals, and is a regular speaker at national and international meetings. He is the Immediate Past President of the Oral Medicine Academy of Australasia and served as its Inaugural President, President of the Australian & New Zealand Division of the International Association for Dental Research, Vice Chairman of the Australian Dental Research Foundation and Chairman of its Research Advisory Committee.

Professor Farah has many years’ experience in dental academia, research, industry and the private sector. He has held various leadership roles in dental academia including Head of Department of Oral Biology & Pathology at UQ from 2007-2008, and Deputy Head of School from 2009-2012, with directorships in Teaching & Learning, Curriculum Development, Research, Clinical Services, Placements and External Affairs.